Why I Encourage Activism

Standard

179af2db6afb62af0267a2e7da3c7107

I’ve always been strong-willed and passionate about issues that I care about. Silence in the presence of something that is wrong or unjust is the same as endorsing it in my eyes. I think it is so important to utilize the voice that we have and speak up for the issues we care about. I think people often feel disconnected from issues unless it directly affects them, or they feel as if they don’t have a place in the fight. That’s a dangerous way of thinking because it allows more injustices to continue, possibly even to the point where people take them as normal occurrences. I’m not saying you have to walk around with a crowd of people holding up signs, but you can do SOMETHING. Not contributing to the injustices is a good start, and maybe then you can encourage others to do the same. I’ve never understood the argument that one person doesn’t make a substantial difference. When we’re talking about issues that affect people and this earth we live on, then any difference at all that is made should be seen as ssubstantialand important.

Leave a Reply

